Published on
Update on

Alexandros Kolonias has become the winner of the World Series of Poker Europe Main Event. He has beaten out over 540 runners, landing himself an impressive prize worth over $1.2 million.

Heading into the final table, Kolonias faced off against some very accomplished players. Players like Dario Sammartino and Anthony Zinno were among the final table runners.

Going into the final table, Zinno was the chip leader with 84 big blinds. Kolonias had the second highest chip count with 61 big blinds. Zinno ended up in third place, after losing Ad 9c to Kolonias’ Jd 10h on a Qh Js 6s 8c Kc board.

This led Kolonias into a final table with Segebrecht, with a 3:2 chip lead. It wasn’t very long until the final hand started, with Kolonias being dealt As Ks and Segebrecht receiving 3d 3c. The board game down Kc Qd 2s Js 5s, giving Kolonias the win and a generous prize worth $1,258,383.  

Place Player Payout
1 Alexandros Kolonias $1,258,383
2 Claas Segebrecht $777,709
3 Anthony Zinno $538,673
4 Dario Sammartino $379,289
5 Anh Do $271,565
6 Rifat Palevic $197,770
7 Julien Martini $146,539
8 Jakob Madsen $110,506
9 Marek Blasko $84,840

Now, Kolonias has a total of $3.7 million in tournament winnings to his name. It’s quite an impressive collection of cashes, especially since he isn’t known for playing live tournaments. Kolonias normally plays online, but he has managed to make some amazing live wins over the course of his career.

“I never played many live events per year, and it was, of course, great to make this one count. I think I will do the same and play online, and do five or six live tournaments a year.”

Now, with this huge win under his belt, it will be interesting to see where this takes his poker career. He has stated that he will continue only playing only a few events per year, while primarily playing online.

With just one WSOP event left in 2019, the winner of Player of the Year could go to Shaun Deeb or Daniel Negreanu. Deeb is currently in the lead in the Colossus No Limit Hold’Em event while Negreanu (who is first on the POY list) has been eliminated. So, if Deeb wins, Negreanu will have missed out on his third WSOP Player of the Year title by a hair.